top of page

I joined the AWW .......


I asked for contributions from all AWW's on when they joined the Algarve Wednesday Walkers. This is what I asked:-

"Grateful if addressees could let me know of their involvement with AWW, ie. month and date of first walk, roughly how often they participated/led, when they stopped (if not still active), and any significant events they care to recall."

Below are the edited replies in no particular order.


ROD





Having done a fair amount of walking in Spain and looking to carry on when I retired in the Algarve 20 years ago, I came across Maurice Clyde as a possible source of good walking here. By chance he was on the point of founding the AWW (or OCDAW- Os Caminhadores do Algarve Walkers as he then called it. This was a splinter group for «striders» (as opposed to «strollers»!) from his existing Saturday Walkers group. So I was able to join it from its very beginning. For the first 6 months or so the leadership was delegated to one Alan Boak who based the walks on the splendid guide book written by the pioneering June Parker. Early numbers were few but membership grew and the object of many of the walks then became the reconnoitring of the future Algarve Way / Via Algarviana, the first memorable full crossing of which was in October 1998 completed by a group of seven worthy folk (and 5 dogs) of which I was fortunate to be one. APAA was the beneficiary of the charitable side of this. As a sideline I also completed three further crossings on horseback for charities so I lay claim to be the first (and possibly the only?) person to have completed the Via Algarviana on two legs and on four!

I have absolutely no idea how many walks I have been on, nor how many I have led; early walks did not have the benefit of GPS, digital cameras, smart phones nor indeed anyone keeping official records. In any event I don´t think I have lost anyone (at least for very long!) on walks I have led, and I have never let on how many times I have got lost, but then managing to extricate myself, without anyone knowing! Over the 20 years I think I have covered a great deal of our wonderful Algarve and have immensely enjoyed ten Round The Corner walks which became such an institutional part of AWW activities. Apart from that I have very much enjoyed introducing some members to the pleasures of walking in Spain on three or four occasions.

In the last couple of years age and ague have begun taking their toll, not only on me I would hasten to add, which has led to the formation of another splinter group, the WAGS. Their aspirations in terms of distance and speed are rather more modest and leave the more challenging walks to the core AWW and maybe to other odd splinter groups with different aspirations.

Like all groups the AWW has had its ups and downs, its grumbles, disputes and differences of opinions, but through it all overall numbers have remained strong and walks generally well attended (even too well on occasions!). The AWW has generally relied on a somewhat limited number of volunteer leaders, Hon. Secs., photographers and blog writers, but somebody has always stepped into the breach ensuring continuity and a sense of community. Above all however the AWW has provided us with many hours of camaraderie, exercise, conversation and the endless pleasure of the countryside in which we have chosen to live. To me those are its real values, and a fitting memorial to its creator, Maurice Clyde. Viva e Força AWW!

MYRIAM

Being a person with very little sense of orientation, I seldom venture out walking by myself in unfamiliar places. For years, my walking experience was limited to taking the dogs out to Meia Praia Beach, to Palmares Golf Course and the vicinity around my house.

In September 1995, I chanced to glance at an advertisement about a walk led by some "Estrangeiros", under the name of Algarve Walkers. My first walk with them was at Cortes/Amarosa, led by a Maurice Clyde. When I approached the "reception table" in the cafe, my diminutive stature aroused some doubts. I was politely informed that the walk would be about 10 km. and whether I was prepared to walk for 3 hours!!

But Esme and Maurice were very welcoming. They made me feel at ease among all the strong, tall walkers!! And walking with them opened a whole new Algarve to me. Such calm, beautiful and unspoilt landscape!!

Since then I joined the monthly walk of the Algarve Walkers whenever I was in the Algarve. In 1996, the stronger walkers thought the once-a-month Saturday walk was not enough and too short for their long legs. Eventually a weekly Wednesday Walk was formed. I was fortunately invited to join them!! In those days, most of the routes were east of Silves. Very often as far as the Spanish border. I remember having to leave Lagos at 6 am, to arrive for 10.00 am start!! There was only the EN 125, and an early start also gave me allowance to get lost!!

Very soon, Wednesday walk became a highlight of the week. My two dogs and I became regular participants. The cherry on the cake was being driven by Tony Webster in his limousine whenever the walk was east of Silves. One incident still kept me apologetic!! On a wet day, the walk was at Serra da Caldeirao, probably starting from Alte, where the mud was red clay. At the end of the walk, we changed into clean shoes to get into his RR. But the 16 paws of the 4 dogs (his and mine) were so caked up with the horrible red clay, there was no way to clean it off without a strong hose and brush. Though I tried to cover the seats with some towels, there was no way to avoid the 16 paws staining the beige leather!!

For quite a while, Maurice had had the dream of re-discovering the pilgrims' way across the Algarve to Cape St. Vicente. And Rod had a similar idea. So the pioneers, Maurice Clyde, Rod Frew, Alan Boak, Ian and Judy Cooper, Tony Webster and Mark Harman began to explore the Algarve from East to West and charted the route. And I was always the lucky one to go with them without having to do any work!! In October 1998, a group of 7 walkers successfully walked from Alcoutim to Cape St. Vincent in 11 days. Because the route taken by us was not the same as the original Algarve Pilgrims' Way, we decided to call it the Via Algarviana. As I was the only odd gender among the 6 gentlemen, I was pampered and well looked after. What a pleasure!!

In October, 1999, Maurice and Paul Akehurst led another crossing of the Via Algarviana. This time from Cape St. Vincent to Alcoutim. I am pleased to say that, until then, Maurice and I were the only two persons who had walked the VA both directions in two consecutive years. Since then, many other people have completed the VA walking, riding or cycling.

In 2002, Maurice planned to celebrate his 70th by crossing the VA one more time in October. From the beginning of the year, we started to plan the logistics. There were already over 10 walkers who showed strong interest in participating. Unfortunately, Maurice was taken ill in March. By the Summer, it was obvious that he would not be able to do it. So we decided to give up the ambition. Instead, Paul charted a route from Luz to Carrapateira, with an overnight stop at Sagres, about 30 km. each day. It became a big hit!! Since then the RTC became a favourite annual event which involved voluntary drivers, bag ladies, and many more diners!!

In the last 3 years, the RTC was switched to Trilhos dos Pescadores in the Alentejo, led by David Littlewood. It is just as popular. There are all the indications that this Trilho will become an annual event for many more years to come.

In 20 years, I have had enjoyed every walk, enjoyed being led by all the leaders, enjoyed all the scenery, enjoyed the wide range of topics of conversation, and above all, enjoyed the camaraderie and companionship.

Thank you, fellow AWWs!!

PAUL

I did one walk with the Saturday walkers having been given Maurice's phone number by someone I met in a pub in Almancil in about August 1997. Maurice invited me to walk on Wednesdays if I could prove I had the necessary stamina and speed, and apparently in those days I did.

I had my name down for the first Algarve crossing in 1998, but unfortunately got distracted in UK that month and didn't make it. Fairly soon after joining the Wednesday Walkers, I met Myriam, with whom I had a lot in common, and being a good bloke tended her when she had a damaged knee in late 1998/early 1999, and one thing led to another.....

When Maurice was stricken in 2002 while planning for another Algarve Way crossing, which had to be cancelled, I instigated the Round the Corner Walk from Luz to Sagres to Carrapateira or vice versa, over 2 days, which became an annual event which I organised with Myriam for 10 years, before gracefully retiring.

I invented Bamboo Diagrams in about 2005, based on Tulip diagrams used in Classic Car Rallies, so that walks could be passed on and led by those that hadn't done them before. This was moderately successful, and Mike also produced diagrams for his walks. These were superceded by technology in the form of hand-held GPS in 2007, and I still have GPS tracks of many walks from those years.

Also in 2005, I started the AWW Blog, a light-hearted record of our weekly walks. At first it was a series of photographs with short comments, but eventually developed into a bit of a monster of satire and incriminating photographs among the factual attendance records and statistics.

In 2009-2010 season, John H was coerced into becoming Assistant Chief Blogger, and by the next season I was able to partially phase myself out and handover. By 2011-2012, John, who was a quick learner, had managed to find himself an Assistant Deputy Chief Blogger in the shape of Yves. David also contributed the occasional blog on walks he had led. By 2012-2013, John resumed part of the load and somehow I emerged from retirement to write more than half the blogs that year. In 2013-2014, no new bloggers were forthcoming and the blogs produced were shared fairly evenly by John and myself but there were only 7 posts up to mid December 2014, when my Blogs closed and John started opening new-style blogs of his own.

By 2015 I was not doing the longer AWW walks which had moved further East, and started a small select group the WAGS (Wednesday Algarve Geriatric Strollers) for those who enjoyed the coffee before, and the beer and bifana after, so that is where we are today. 20 years has taken its toll on many of the original Wednesday Walkers, and it is good that the Group is still going with new blood, new walks and new 'rules'.

YVES

Introduced to the group by Dina and Vitor despite a broken toe at the time (never go for relief behind a building-site caravan in the dark: there lurk breeze-blocks…). Enjoyed many walks when the leaders relied on the sun and their nose to find the way home before the invention of hand-held GPS devices: never able to remember one track from another… Neither were some Leaders.After quite a while, conned –sorry, persuaded- to take over the duties of Chief Blogger and part-time photographer for our outings: some Walkers have never forgotten or forgiven the prominence that they may have enjoyed on occasions; all in the best possible taste, naturellement! In the commission of such terrible acts of defamation and slander, valuable help was invariably forthcoming from previous bloggers, particularly on the technical side where an acute lack of skills led to quite an improvement in my neighbours’ French colloquial vernacular.Apart from dull jokes and weak puns, the only memorable contribution made to the history of the AWW was a short but sharp one: some cliff gave way and caused some excitement and trepidation in almost equal measure. Fortunately St Peter looked at his spread-sheet for that day and could not find my name, so it was left to the Vila de Bispo Bombeiros to bring home the tired but relieved Blogueur. All in all, an experience that I would not care to repeat… Those who missed the event live watched it later on TV, I hear.Many happy memories from RTC, from Sparrowfart, from long and wet outings when ponchos would wrap neatly around walking poles, leaving this idiot looking a sodden tent. Many friends made, many anecdotes shared and re-hashed too often,, many beers to slate parched throats at the end, many hot meals from the flask carried by Le Gourmet to the surprise of other Walkers…Thank you all for everything; here’s to the next 20 years! “Well begun is half done” (Aristotle):

DAVID L

Cor, you don´t want much do you? Met Maurice in early 2000, but didn´t walk that year because I broke some toes. Started the next winter. First walk was the old Torre - Amorosa, led by Maurice. There was a cloudburst that day and Silves was inundated. Took Ian and Pam back to Casa dos Sonhos for a meal and we had to do a long detour. Came out for winters and walked Dec - March/April until 2006 when we moved out here. Been leading on and off ever since but have no idea how many times - got lost lots. Worked on the Algarve Way with Terry A 2004 - 7. Coordinator of AWW for the last 5 years. Now working on a series of walks to be published on the web.

GEOFF HILL

Thanks to my diary, I can tell you I started on 4 Jan 2012, with a walk from David's house, starting with coffee & mince-pies! There were 15 on the walk with 5 dogs...my diary records " a lovely walk though leader David hadn't reconnoitred a couple of sections which were very rough", so nothing much changed there!

In fact I have said that a David walk is never complete without :

(a) Rosie getting lost

(b) David getting lost

(c) some off-piste work

.......which is not to say that any of that is a problem, and his walks are invariably in beautiful parts of the Algarve!

Sue had started a bit earlier, on 18 May 2011 , having been recommended by Terry ( Ames) : she often had a lift with Tina who had an apartment in Ferragudo.

We now invariably walk with the AWW when in Portugal, about 3.5 months of the year. I led my first AWW walk on April Fool's Day 2013, and had 21 walkers! Since then, I have led about a dozen walks and helped recce others ( mainly Ros').

SUE HILL

I know you've had some feedback from Geoff already but thought I'd tell you about my first experience with the AWWs: It was Wednesday 18 May 2011 from Messines and I remember being very pleased with myself driving all that way on my own! I think it was the furthest I'd driven in Portugal. It was pouring with rain and Terry Ames was leading the walk. I overshot the turning to Joao de Jesus and was the last to arrive (nothing changes)! There were 11 of us and we walked for about 5 1/2 hours. We had coffee and sandwiches at O Gralha. I remember Rod talking to me and I also remember Hazel. John Hope was there according to my note book as was Tina. The latter was a start of a beautiful friendship as Tina, who lived nearby, ferried me to and from AWWs until Geoff joined me in 2012. Jill Ames is also in my notebook though I can't remember whether she came on the walk or not. The rain eased off and, according to my diary, everyone was very sociable. We ended up with a drink at Joao de Jesus.

The second time I walked with the AWWs we went from Odiaxere from a cafe in the middle of nowhere. That was when I met Myriam for the first time so I suppose you were there too. I remember thinking I was so clever remembering her name, Hazel, which of course it wasn't! Believe it or not, it rained. I have a feeling you led the walk though I may be wrong. Anyway the majority of us cut the walk short making it a 4 hour walk.

IAN SCOTT

First walk, Sept 2001, led by Maurice, last 2012 due to accident. Memorable walks. First Round the Corner, great walk, great evening in Sagres. Rod's walk from Mata Lascanas on the beach by Coto Donyana ending with ferry to San Lucar Barameda where we had a wonderful sherry tasting the next day. Rod & Mikes trip to Pileira in the Sierra Nevada, when we walked up the Culo De Perro to the snow line accompanied by a local three legged dog. hope these memories help ,

LINDSEY

I didn’t lead very many walks! A few with Hilke which were around here and one of Hedley’s walk up near Alcalar. As a result I offered to be ‘General Dog’s Body’ and send out all the emails from 2000 up until 2004 (I think) when Janet took over. I started walking with the group in 1999 when I stopped working in the nursery and had more time.

So I have walked from 1999-2015 most weeks! Via Algarviana, lots of Round the Corners (but I haven’t got a record of how many).

FRANK McEWAN

I only joined in the 2015 /2016 season.

I walked in the rain on the first walk of the season on 16th Sept 2015 and have been walking most weeks since then.

I have led two walks locally where I live on the hillsides above Faro.

I believe that I am the most easterly member of the group.

HILKE

My first walk with the AWW was in autumn 2006, I think November. It was a walk of Mike Pease's from near Arao, supposed to be for 6 hours, but it ended after three hours in torrential rains. Wives were summoned to ferry us back to our cars. But I like the company very much, so I came back. I was there on invitation from Gack, she soon changed places with me and went to that group I had been walking with before (some 2 1/2 hours). I have been walking very regularly until the end of 2014, from then on I decided to walk not more than 20 km on health reasons, and the next season after that it was - again on health reasons - a bit unregular, but I keep walking and do not want to miss it, although the group has been changing constantly.

My first round the corner in 2007 was a real adventure for me, I loved it, and did again the next year, but then I broke my arm and discontinued.

I do not think I remember anything special that might be worth recording.

BOB BATES

Thanks for your note. I'm sorry that I can't come over for the anniversary

I recall joining the AWWs back in 2008, at Terry Ames' invitation as I had the Algarve Way in mind, which Terry and I did in 2009, I then walked with the group whenever my church duties allowed me to, more or less until my hernia operation in 2012, after which I was required not to do stressful activity for 6 months, to ensue no strain on the healing of the repairs internal and external. I managed to rejoin for a while thereafter, but we left the Algarve in mid 2014 to move to Porto. I have happy memories of the walks, and mixing with such a widespread and international group of folk who I still feel are friends.

Please give my best wishes to the AWWs old and new.

INGRID

My first walk with the AWW was on 10 September 2008 Benagil, your post on your blog 11 September 2008 Bedlam at Benagil. Walking with the AWW gave me the opportunity to walk the Algarve Way in 2009, from Alcoutim to Cabo de Sao Vicente with Tina and Alex under the guidance of David Littlewood, which was a unique and enjoyable experience!.

Very glad that I have joined the AWW, was a few months out 2013 January to May 2013 recovering from my emergency operation. Have a lot of happy memories from the old crowd and days. I had a lot of laughs

JOHN & HAZEL

Hazel´s and my first walk with AWW was when we were still visiting the Algarve. I can´t remember the month or year, possibly 2004, but it was a walk in the Odelouca area which was followed by a lunch in the Ourique Bar and Restaurant on I think Maurice´s birthday. A significant event took place at that lunch. I was sitting at the table quietly minding my own business as usual when I was suddenly embraced from behind by an excited young lady exclaiming how nice it was to see me again. It turned out that my bald pate had led her to think that I was Thyll. That should enable you and/or Myriam to pinpoint the exact date.

Next remembered involvement with AWW was on 1st March 2006 when we had flown in that morning from Dubai to settle in Portugal and had just driven down from Lisboa. At about midday, turning right at Casinhas, we saw a crowd outside the bar who looked familiar. We were waved down and told to come and have a beer by Ian Scott. That was the day you were presenting Maurice with a memento. We have been walking fairly regularly ever since.

MIKE PEASE

Application to join AWW formally submitted probably in 1998. Permitted to join group after much blood-letting amongst the cistus,. Never accomplished art of ascending very steep hills with hands in pockets whilst whistling gaily. Subsequently led many walks including two ‘Moonlight Capers’ and trips to Madeira and The Alpujarras. Independently undertook various long-distance solo walks in UK and Portugal. Instigated the 'Sparrowfart' series of midsummer breakfast walks. Now retired.

JANET

I can't really be certain when my first walk was but I was certainly walking in 1999 and am down in the diary to do a walk in Monchique at 7.45 am on 7th July, 1999 so I think I must have started in 1998. I didn't walk for periods when the family obligations got too busy but I never gave it up. I always wanted to walk. . In those days one just phoned another members to find out where the walk started and had no idea of how long it would be and how hard. Rod, Mike P and Maurice strode up the hills and l puffed and painted in their wake. I could never lead a walk so when Lindsey gave up the Hon. Sec. job l organised the walks and begged and pleaded for leaders. I was very happy to be able to put something back into the group and always resisted the introduction of any rules! I have loved (and sometimes hated) the walks and am so grateful to have been able to explore this lovely region. I am now walking with the WAGS and am delighted that l can still join them.

TINA

I joined AWW through meeting Janet at a Palmares golf do, she was sitting on the same table and we got chatting and she invited me to join her walking group. Little did I realise what I was letting myself in for!!!!

Not sure of the dates but I think it was 2005/6 and my first walk was a baptism of fire no less. Can’t remember location but do remember walking along escarpments of eucalyptus trees and then trying to cross a gully which was overgrown and trying to climb up the other side, being dragged through dense undergrowth and being hauled up the steep embankment. It was suggested that the group should invest in a rope!!! Not sure if we ever got one………..

I am so sorry not to be with you all on the 7th, would you believe it we are coming to Ferragudo in September arriving on the 9th, bad timing on our part. Hopefully I will be able to meet up with some of you during our stay as we do not return till the 29th September.

Have many very happy memories of you all and the fab walks we did.

ROS SMITH

Mine is really the tale of a T-shirt. I joined a pilates class at Silves Municipal Pool and found myself one Tuesday morning 'pilating' behind a lady whose T-shirt shouted 'AWW' and 'RTC' at me for 60 mins. After the class my curiosity got the better of me and I accosted said lady to find out just what she was advertising on her back and front. The lady was Dina and she proceded to give me Tina's no. After a double dose of 'inas' my next contact point was Janet who sent me a lovely friendly e-mail and invited me to join Antje the following week at Carrapateira. So.... my first walk was on 16th May 2012. Since then I've walked more and more regularly and nowadays rarely miss a Weds. For want of any other qualification this must be the reason why I find myself 'keeper of the kitty'.

Every walk is a significant event in it's own way ( some admittedly more than others��) - a new face , a new piece of news or gossip, new boots, a different cordon bleu lunch and, best of all, a new route with a new challenge.

In case she hasn't yet replied I can tell you that Marian Hall's first walk was also the Carrapateira walk on 16-05-12.

MARIAN HALL

Sorry I haven't replied but I honestly can't remember when I did actually start walking with the AWW walkers. (Ros can - see above!)I do remember that I was cycling with my husband close to Cordama beach when we saw a snake of hikers on the horizon winding their way down towards the beach. I asked a tall German gentlemen who was in the group (possibly Hilke's husband?) and I was put in touch with Janet Summerfield, who as usual was very welcoming and invited me along. I have dipped in and out of the walks infrequently over the years sadly because we don't live in the Algarve full time. I have been lucky enough to join in the Round the Corner walk, the Alentejo walk, both organised impeccably by Rod Frew. The hi lights of the Alentejo trip was the vineyard visit, the guided historical walks and that delightful and stunning blue tiled Convento where we stayed. I have also walked the Trilho de Pescadores and the Rota Historico twice, both times organised beautifully by David Littlewood..... except for the torrential horrendous rain on our first historical trip. Bad luck. Again we stayed in fabulous accommodation and enjoyed not only delicious suppers but classical guitar serenading us into the evening. Every time I appear for a Wednesday walk, it is honestly like meeting up again with long lost friends and I enjoy everyone's company hugely. Thank you all for making me so very welcome.

I'm now very much looking forward to our 7th September anniversary walk.

JOHN DAVEY

About six or seven years ago there was an article in one of the papers talking about AWW walks I believe by Yves, I contacted Terry from this and after he had interrogated me on my fitness I joined the next walk which was due to go up Picota, if I remember it was to check a route to the top for a triathlon later in the year, fortunately for me we lost three walkers off the back which took some time to find them and Rod decided there would not be time to complete the walk and he took us back via the road, I believe Terry and Yves completed the original walk finishing in the dark.

Since then I've completed most walks between October and mid March, and I'm looking forward to joining AWW again sometime in September this year, unfortunately I will miss the 20 year anniversary.

JAN OTTER

I joined the walking group in Spring, 2008, following Otter's article a 'Walk on the Wildside' written for Goodlife, featuring Terry Ames and his walking tours. We joined him at Barranco do Velho and finished at Benafim - a spectacular and well-led walk. Soon after this I joined the group at a walk which Terry was leading that particular week.

Since then, I have continued to walk just about every week, with the exception of Decembers and Januarys when Otter and I are always at our ski chalet in Austria.

I have stepped up to lead several times and have helped others with their recces.

I have introduced several keen walkers at times when numbers seemed to dwindle which at one point they did dramatically!. Many of these have become regular walkers and have also taken their share in the leading walks.

A significant event that comes to mind was the episode of the frightened boar. I was walking alongside Ros in Rocha da Pena when we noticed boar spoor. Lo and behold, in front of us our four-legged friends became agitated and behind a wire fence, and very close to us, we found a very frightened boar. He was obviously caught in some wire and could not escape. A frightened and trapped wild animal can be very dangerous - and he was a big bugger, too! I immediately put my brave cap on, grabbed Ros and put her in front of me! Something she will never forget. We were so glad that the boar was behind a fence... however, a few metres on.... more print activity and holes in the fence! It appeared to be a crossing point for boars! Phew, what a scary episode and on reflection rather amusing. This whole episode, however, highlighted a problem with having unleashed dogs on board. The initial rising of the beast and the continued worrying of it by the dogs could have led to an injury being inflicted on one of the walkers.

I am sure there have been more significant memories, some including rivers(!) but this one, for me, was the most memorable.

HEDLEY WHITE

I have been racking my brains to work out our walking history but 20 years ago defeats my enfeebled memory. However looking back brings to mind (which I had never thought of before) that my/our history follows a neat cycle. On the basis that the AWW's (what were we called then? ) started in 1996, we must have started shortly after but with the Saturday walkers which quickly morphed into the Striders and Strollers with the latter doing an extended version of the walk but with identical start and finish points - a nightmare for the leaders who had to recce 2 versions of the route and organise the timing so that both groups started and finished at the same point and at the same time! And all this in what was frequently virgin walking territory. After about 2 years we learned of the Wednesday group who did not, as I recall, have the AWW name and joined in to what had been up to that point a group of 6/7/people. The only names who are still in the Algarve (I think) are Myriam Rod and Tony. The group objective was to recce what became the Algarve Way. It seemed that every Wednesday was a journey into the unknown with much backtracking on encountering an immovable barrier and much beating through head high vegetation. I think it was around that time that Joy and I started to recce walks centred around the blue bar in Moinho da Rocha. I am glad to see that the current crop of AWW's are still using this trail - it is a pity that many other tracks have fallen into disuse - especially in the east. I still remember the infamous walk I led from Marmelete that led to my almighty row with Tony - although I hope that we are reconciled now although he never walked again. We, or more latterly I, kept up the Wednesday walks until about 3 years ago when increasing decrepitude led me to decide that 16K plus was too much and I joined the WAGS . Thus very neatly over 20 years I have moved from the Saturday Strollers to the WAGStrollers - a neat symmetry. I hope that when my time in the Algarve permits I can keep it up for a few more seasons.

CHRIS and ANTJE

We started to walk regularly with the group in September 2003 and think I had one or two guest appearances while still living in Malta. We did not lead a walk for a while while getting to know the area a bit. Our first walk we led started at Dona Anna to Piedade then up and down the fishermen's footpath to the Swiss Hotel down to their little beach up again through a gap in the cliffs reached by a narrow path (health and Safety no concern yet) and down to Porto do Mos beach. More walking along the cliffs to the trig point overlooking Luz and from there we circled back passing along Boa Vista Golf to the start. A modest walk by any standards but we had led our first walk and did not get lost.

That I managed to do much later in a big way when I turned the 22 km Raposeira to Pedralva walk into 26.5 km one and nearly finished off the youngest walker present, Geraldine who was just recovering from a bout of influenza.

Chris and I have been leading several walks a year and chose the West Coast as our preferred area after Ian and Pam Clarke Simpson's departure.

Walking with the AWW has given much pleasure and we have met many interesting people some of which have become good friends.

A short mention of our4 legged companions who love the walks as much if not more than their owners.

Could say lots more but that should do.

Obviously remember all Round the Corner walks and also David's Via Algarviana route.

The first 5 years we were here Chris spent at least 6 month a year away consulting so missed many walks.

JIM BROWNLOW

Regarding my years of involvement with AWW, I don’t have any record of when I started, but would guess the late 90’s, and last walked with them 3 or 4 years ago. Sorry I can’t be more specific, but the current heat combined with the age of the beast has addled the memory somewhat!

ROGER AND TRISH

Myself, Trish my partner and Baxter ( our cocker spaniel ) are I guess AWW virgins having joined the group in March this year with only about 5 walks under our belts so far, including the excursion to Culatra Island & mid summers Sparrowfart. All highly enjoyable with Baxter seemingly now taken lead role in finding & sampling all water sources en route from barragems, private swimming pools & flea infested muddy bogs / drainage ditches hence he is often seen walking in isolation of his peers & even further adrift from his owners. Unfortunately for others he is likely to turn up on quite a few more outings yet !

MARIA

Maurice used to come into the Rose Newton office when things needed to be done at his property and he persuaded me to join his walkers. These were the Saturday Strollers at first, I think it would have been in 1993 or 1994. Then we started with the AWW, presumably 1996.

I remember particularly the Madeira trip, when Anna Rose fell and broke her leg quite badly and I helped her there, in Funcho Hospital, and on the plane home later. Other memories are the midnight moonlight walks finishing up with champagne breakfasts at Myriam´s or on the beach, and the first Round The Corner - I don´t know which year - when Myriam and I were the 2 girls in a group of 6.

There was a Trans-Algarve Way walk where I could do 2 legs – I had to work in the office as well, remember. One leg was an 8 hour killer, Silves up to Picota. They advised us to bring spare boots and dry socks because there were rivers to cross. I brought lixo bags instead so I am the lixo bag pioneer. The other leg I did was Vila do Bispo to Cape St Vincent.

I helped arrange for the memento we presented to Maurice at Casinhas 1st March 2006 and for the large painted banana presented to someone at a Round The Corner.

I didn´t walk for a few years when I was away a lot, but I started walking again quite often since 2010 and still do.

PETER SCHROEDER

I think I came to the walkers through Mark Harman end of the 90's and walked quite regularly till 2013 , then I switched to the WAGS walking occasionally.

TERRY AMES

Been looking back on calendars and other things can’t narrow it down as to first walk etc. but looks like I made a start sometime in 2004 the year we moved here. I know I was busy with the building of my Casa then.

2005 is the year David and I put a lot of time into getting the AW together ready for my attempted crossing in early 2006 with a lot of support from the AWW it was a great success. It was also around that time I started doing the Round the Corner Walks (sadly missed now).

2007 I spent a lot of my time working to earn a crust at the expense of walking, but 2008 saw a lot of activity with my Algarve Walking Experience project and another AW walked. So far I have walked 11 AW and 3 Halfgarve Ways with one planned for later this year.

2009 lot of time spent with the group walking and leading onwards into 2010 to 2013. Eased off in 2014 as my guided walking tours really started to take off and I needed to do my own thing but 2015/16 started to join the group more as it got over it’s hiatus of walkers and leaders.

The number or people I have guided across the Algarve is in the fifties and growing.

Lost count of the number I have had out on day walks. All started by walking with the AWW always happy to share their knowledge by people who have been walking in the Algarve a lot longer than me. People might snigger when we say how lucky we are to walk

in the Algarve but I firmly believe we are and to have done it with walkers who are now friends what more can we ask for?


In his own inimitable style Terry updated with the following. He has had a tough time recently and our thoughts are with him!


it’s moved on from 2017/18 walking more with the group can’t remember if it’s AWW or WAG’s, anyway poor Jill had been diagnosed with Alzheimer’s/Dementia already at about stage three, we struggled on with this Dementia going through the stages with nothing to be done for her, I still got her out on some short walks which I think she liked the change,

As we all went into Coved time and couldn’t get out Jill went downhill fast and passed away on in April 2022. so was with her to the end.

By August that year after not feeling well I was diagnosed with Terminal Cancer Had op to remove the tumor but couldn’t be removed. So put straight onto Chemo. And then to top it off all that my dog Becky had to be put down . So now into 2023 only just able to stand and walk about 1km so how quick times change looks like my walking days are over, maybe I will see the end of 2023 who knows? Terry

Clearly there are many others who could contribute, but for one reason or other didn't get round to it. This is a living document online, so if you feel you have something to relate or comment then please send it to me, and also your favourite head and shoulder photo, unless you want me to check and see what I have in my Picasa library.

bottom of page